Forbrydelsen

Forbrydelsen is one of my favourite police procedurals. I was introduced to it while taking a pulp fiction class and immediately became obsessed. Forbrydelsen (translates into The Killing) is a Danish tv series that takes place in Copenhagen and lasted three seasons. Each season follows one particular case, with its findings being investigated by Sarah Lund (Sofie Gråbøl). The first series runs for 20 episodes, whereas the following two seasons consist of 10 episodes each running for about 50 mins. I don’t want to talk too much about the storyline itself, however I do want to mention that at the end of each episode I thought I had the killer. The writer does a wonderful job of steering you towards who you think it will be, only to find out there is another trail to follow and proves who you thought was the killer was not. I have always been very impressed with this series from the day I first saw it. After watching the first episode I went home and got my own copy of the series and just power watched my way through it. I also want to mention how much I love Sarah’s sweaters ❤

Sarah Lund Forbrydelsen The Killing Faroese jumper sweater

As a quick over view, Sarah Lund is the Chief Inspector, but he is leaving the division to move to Sweden. Her replacement, Jan Meyer, arrives and is now made to work alongside her trying to find the murderer of Nana Birk Larsen, a high school girl who was brutally and violently murdered and raped.

 

What I like about season one is that each episode consists of one day of the investigation. So the viewers follows all the evidence as Sarah discovers it. The funny thing about that, is not only did Sarah and the viewers discover the evidence in pieces day by day but also did Sofie Gråbøl. “The creator and screenwriter, Søren Sveistrup, refused to let the actors know where the plot was going or who the murderer was. They would receive each script just before shooting an episode and right until the last they were left guessing, along with everyone else. Gråbøl knew only that her character, Lund, was not the killer.” Andrew Anthony (13 March 2011). “The Killing: meet Sofie Gråbøl, star of the hit Danish crime thriller | Television & radio | The Observer”. London: Guardian. Retrieved April 5/2016.

p01l69zh

If you are looking for a intriguing, and mind baffling series I would highly recommend this series. If possible try and watch only one a day, that way you can follow along with Sarah. I would also like to mention that there was an american remake done of the series. In my opinion I would have to say it is quite terrible in comparison. I tried two separate times to watch the series in hopes that I was being too judgemental in my first viewing. Though they have the general idea of what happens in the original series, they add too much fluff and the speed through the series. Instead of it being slow and surprising with twists, you have all the information just kinda thrown at you, and things that you aren’t suppose to find out or know about till later are coming up in the first two episodes. So I know some people do enjoy the american remake, and everyone is entitles to their likes and dislikes. If you are one who does enjoy The Killing, I would highly recommend checking out the original Forbrydelsen.

Leave a Reply

